Lower Manhattan is the southernmost part of the island of Manhattan, the center of business and government of the City of New York. Lower Manhattan or "downtown" is defined most commonly as the area delineated on the north by 14th Street, on the west by the Hudson River, on the east by the East River, and on the south by New York Harbor (also known as Upper New York Bay). Lower Manhattan, New York City is the financial capital of the world and is home to the New York Stock Exchange the world's largest stock exchange by market capitalization of its listed companies.


Midtown boundaries are generally understood to be from 34th street to 59th Street, Central Park South. Midtown is Manhattan's central business district, where many of the corporate offices and famous shopping stores are. This area may be filled with corporate headquarters, crammed streets, skyscrapers, high end shopping stores and honking horns, but it also hosts an endless number of residents and visitors and a vibe that's filled with life and distinctly NYC.

Upper East Side

Upper East is located from 57th Street to 96th Street, from the East River to Fifth Avenue, with Sutton Place and Carnegie Hill as separate enclaves. Known to many as the most affluent and prestigious location in Manhattan, the Upper East Side is awash in elegance and culture.

Upper West Side

Upper West Side is from Central Park West to the Hudson River, 57th Street to 110th Street. Upper West Side has enclaves representing different eras the 70s and 80s have their share of “Classic Six” prewar apartments. Along Riverside Drive on the Upper West Side, there are contain some grand-scale apartment buildings with magnificent river views to match the street’s name.

Upper Manhattan

Upper Manhattan denotes the more northerly region of the New York City Borough of Manhattan. Its southern boundary may be defined anywhere between 96th Street and 155th Street. Between these two extremes lies the most common definitions of Upper Manhattan as Manhattan above 96th Street (the southern boundary of Manhattan Valley in the west and Spanish Harlem in the east). This definition of Upper Manhattan takes in the neighborhoods of Marble Hill, Inwood, Washington Heights (including Fort George, Sherman Creek and Hudson Heights), Harlem (including Sugar Hill and Hamilton Heights), and parts of the Upper West Side (Morningside Heights and Manhattan Valley).